If you are involved in any accident and opted to flee the scene without honest and full disclosure of what transpired then you can be charged with a hit and run case.
If you are involved in this kind of situation and do not know how to go about it, do not even think about running away. Instead, simply contact Ross Goodman, one of the best lawyers in Nevada, who can help you decide on the best approach to keep this off your record and keep you out of jail.
You are required by law to exchange information and render aid if you are involved in a traffic accident. If you flee the scene of an accident with property damage, you may face only misdemeanor charges, but if there was an injury or death, then you might be facing a felony charge.
Nevada Hit and Run Laws
Here are some of Nevada’s laws that target hit and run situations:
Duty to stop at scene of accident involving death or personal injury
The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident on a highway or on premises to which the public has access resulting in bodily injury or death to a person shall immediately stop his vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close as possible to the scene of the accident and shall remain on the scene until the individual fulfills the requirements.
Duty to give information and render aid
The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury or death or any person or damage to any vehicle or other property that is driven or attended by any person shall give the following information to the driver or occupants of the other motor vehicles and the police:
- Registration number of the vehicle involved in the accident
- License information
Misdemeanor Hit & Run – Involving Property Damage
If the accident caused only property damage, you are required to stop and exchange information with the other driver so as not to face misdemeanor charges. If the vehicle or property damaged was unattended, you need to stop and find the owner or leave a note with your information.
Leaving the scene of the accident causing property damage can be penalized with up to six months in jail, a fine up to $1,000, and 6 demerit points to your license.
Felony Hit & Run – Involving Physical Injury or Death
Fleeing the scene of a car accident that caused injury or death is a category B felony and can be penalized with up to two years in prison, a fine of $2,000 to $5,000, and your license may be suspended or revoked.
If you are facing charges for "hit and run," contact a Las Vegas criminal defense lawyer for a free consultation on how best to fight those charges and keep you in the clear.